Information used when registering with Lotro-Wiki.com will not be used for any commercial purpose. In fact only a unique avatar name and password is required to register, an optional email address can be provided if you choose to enhance how notifications are delivered or edit. Registration is only required if you want to contribute to or have a more custom experience on Lotro-Wiki.com. To combat SPAM, we do require an email to edit, if you would like to bypass this, please contact any administrator on discord.
IP and other technical information
When a visitor requests or reads a page, or sends email to a Lotro-Wiki.com server, no more information is collected than is typically collected by web sites. Raw logs of such transactions are only used to monitor the health of the web server. When a page is edited by a logged-in editor, the server confidentially stores related IP information for a limited period of time. This information is automatically deleted after a week.
The site sets a temporary session cookie on a visitor's computer whenever a page is visited. Readers who do not intend to log in or edit may deny this cookie; it will be deleted at the end of the browser's session. More cookies may be set when one logs in to maintain logged-in status. If one saves a user name or password in one's browser, that information will be saved for up to 30 days or 180 days if selecting the keep me logged in option, and this information will be resent to the server on every visit. Contributors using a public machine who do not wish to show their username to future users of the machine should clear these cookies after use.
Browser, DNS and other tracking
Browsers like Google Chrome have advanced fingerprinting that can still collect information on you. This can extend to ISP, Google DNS and third party VPNs, etc. For more details vist Wikipedia's article on tracking.
Edits or other contributions to articles, user pages and talk pages are generally retained forever. Removing text from a project does not permanently delete it. Normally, in projects, anyone can look at a previous version of an article and see what was there. Even if an article is "deleted", a user entrusted with higher level of access may still see what was removed from public view. Information can be permanently deleted by individuals with access to Lotro-Wiki.com on request. We generally try to permanently delete spam.
User contributions are also aggregated and publicly available. User contributions are aggregated according to their registration and login status. Data on user contributions, such as the times at which users edited and the number of edits they have made, are publicly available via user contributions lists, and in aggregated forms published by other users.
Deletion of Account
If requested, accounts can be removed by lotroadmin, but your edits including signatures, comments and edit history will be retained. An account with no edits or file uploads will periodically be removed after two years of inactivity.